Our Oat M*lk is no longer gluten-free. We’ve updated our packaging to remove the gluten-free claim as we’ve switched over our formula from gluten-free to standard oats.
You are probably asking yourself, what does this mean? I thought oats were naturally gluten-free? And you are right, they are! However, oats may come into contact with other grains that contain gluten (like wheat, rye and barley) either at the farm, in storage or during transportation. So, we’ll continue to buy Canadian oats, but the main difference is that our oats no longer go through the same level of allergen testing and can’t be claimed as gluten-free.
So why are we making this change…
The environmental impacts of heat waves, fires and drought significantly hurt the harvesting of oat crops across North America, reducing the supply of oats overall and even further limiting the availability of gluten-free oats.
Because of this, we’ve had to make the really tough decision of moving forward with standard oats in order to keep supplying you with your favourite Earth’s Own Oat M*lk. It is really important to us to keep sourcing the very best oats, which we know are grown right here by Canadian farmers.
It reminded us (once again) that climate change is very real. We believe very strongly in the power of a plant-based diet as science has shown that it is the number one thing we can do as individuals to help fight climate change.
If you are simply looking to limit gluten in your diet, our Oat M*lk is still a great option for you. However, if you are celiac or gluten-intolerant, we’re so sorry that you can no longer enjoy our Oat M*lk. As an alternative, we’d love for you to try our Almond M*lk or Soy Barista. We have a strict allergen control program in place to make sure there is no cross contamination between our oat and other plant-based m*lks.